Salt & health

Salt is the main vector of sodium

Sodium  plays an important physiological role by participating in particular in the regulation of osmotic balance, in the transmission of nerve impulses, in muscle contractions, and in the intestinal absorption of certain nutrients. In European countries, three-quarters of the sodium consumed comes from processed foods, the rest being from salt added at the table or during cooking .

An excessive salt intake can lead to an increase in the incidence of certain cardiovascular pathologies, in particular high blood pressure and coronary artery disease.

Salt is a health risk factor

Salt is a risk factor for death independent of other cardiovascular risk factors, notably atherogenic.


WHO recommends intakes of less than 5 g of salt / day. At the national level, the National Nutrition Health Program 3 (PNNS 3) aims to limit salt consumption to 8 g / day for men, and 6.5 g / day for women and children.
Currently, salt intake is too high with an average of 8.5 g / day in adults.

Benefits of a sodium restriction

Numerous studies have demonstrated the positive impact of the reduction in sodium consumption on cardiovascular morbidity and mortality. The DASH and TOHP studies respectively showed that a reduction in sodium intake was likely to be associated with a significant drop in blood pressure and a 25% reduction in cardiovascular accidents.

 

Over the past 30 years, Finnish health policy has led to a gradual decrease in sodium intake, alcohol consumption and obesity. During this period, mortality from coronary heart disease and stroke fell by 80% in adults. Average blood pressure dropped more than 10 mm Hg

 

Published in the British Medical Journal in 2013, a large meta-analysis brought together quality studies on the subject. The authors conclude that the reduction in sodium intake is beneficial for most of the population (adults and children).

In total, the estimation of the benefits of reducing dietary sodium reveals that they are considerable and that they justify a Public Health approach to reduce sodium on a population scale.

 

 

A growing and on-going process

A growing number of countries are developing dietary sodium reduction strategies. Some are incentive, others are more coercive.


The European Union has also undertaken initiatives to limit the consumption of salt. In 2008, the European Commission established a framework for national salt initiatives (Framework for National Salt Initiatives). This framework presents a common vision of a general approach with the aim of reducing salt and the overall objective of helping to reduce sodium intake in the population so as to meet the recommendations formulated in the country by the WHO.

Low sodium minerals, a healthy solution to replace salt.

Sodium reduction, beyond a certain threshold, involves replacing the salt with ingredients that are also salty but with no sodium.

 

There are various products for this purpose, aromas, yeasts, condiments & spices etc.

 

But the healthiest and most effective solution is inspired directly by nature. These are minerals, naturally present in the seas and the rocks, they have natural salting properties and their contribution is essential to our nutritional balance.

 

© 2020 by NUTRIONIX. Created with Wix.com

Sel & santé

Le sel est le principal vecteur de sodium

Le sodium qui joue un rôle physiologique important en participant notamment à la régulation de l'équilibre osmotique, à la transmission des influx nerveux, aux contractions musculaires, et à l'absorption intestinale de certains nutriments. Dans les pays européens, les trois quarts du sodium consommé proviennent des aliments transformés, le reste étant apporté par le sel ajouté à table ou à la cuisson.

Un apport excessif en sel peut entrainer l’augmentation de l’incidence de certaines pathologies cardiovasculaires, notamment l’hypertension artérielle et les coronaropathies.

Le sel est un facteur de risque santé

Le sel est un facteur de risque de décès indépendant des autres facteurs de risque cardio-vasculaires notamment athérogènes;


L’OMS recommande des apports inférieurs à 5 g de sel/jour. Au niveau national, le Programme National Nutrition Santé 3 (PNNS 3) a pour objectif de limiter la consommation de sel à 8 g/jour pour les hommes, et 6,5 g/jour pour les femmes et les enfants.
Actuellement, les apports en sel sont trop élevés avec une moyenne de 8,5 g/jour chez les adultes.

Bénéfices d’une restriction sodée

De nombreux travaux ont démontré l’impact positif de la diminution de la consommation sodée sur la morbi-mortalité cardio-vasculaire. Les études DASH et TOHP ont respectivement montré qu’une réduction des apports sodés était susceptible d’être associée à une chute significative de la pression artérielle et une diminution de 25% des accidents cardiovasculaires.

Au cours des 30 dernières années, la politique sanitaire de la Finlande a permis une diminution progressive des apports sodés, de la consommation d’alcool et de l’obésité. Pendant cette période, la mortalité liée aux coronaropathies et aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux a chuté de 80% chez les adultes. La pression artérielle moyenne a baissé de plus de 10 mm Hg

Publiée dans le British Medical Journal en 2013, une grande méta-analyse a rassemblé les études de qualité sur le sujet. Les auteurs concluent que la diminution des apports sodés est bénéfique pour la majeure partie de la population (adultes et enfants).

Au total, l’estimation des bienfaits de la réduction du sodium alimentaire révèle qu’ils sont considérables et qu’ils justifient une démarche en Santé Publique pour réduire le sodium à l’échelle de la population.

Une démarche qui s’amplifie

Un nombre croissant de pays développe des stratégies de réduction du sodium alimentaire. Certaines sont incitatives, d’autres sont plus coercitives.


L’Union Européenne a également entrepris des initiatives pour limiter la consommation de sel. En 2008, la Commission Européenne a établi un cadre destiné aux initiatives nationales en matière de sel (Framework for National Salt Initiatives). Ce cadre présente une vision commune d’une démarche générale ayant pour but la réduction du sel et pour objectif global de contribuer à réduire l’apport en sodium chez la population de façon à satisfaire aux recommandations formulées au pays par l’OMS.

Les minéraux non sodés, une solution saine pour remplacer le sel.

La réduction sodium, au delà d'un certain seuil passe par la substitution du sel par des ingrédients également salés mais non sodés.

 

Il existe divers produits pour se faire, arômes, levures, condiments etc.

Mais la solution la plus saine et la plus efficace nous est inspirée directement par la nature. Il s'agit des minéraux, présents naturellement dans les mers et les roches, ils ont des propriétés salantes et leur apport est essentiel à notre équilibre nutritionnel.

 

©2020 par NUTRIONIX. Créé avec Wix.com